Product Reviews

Posted on 9/01/17

good quality price ease of use

– by andy
Price:
Value:
Quality:

Quite happy with my purchase. Am now practising on correct use of unit. Purchase was promptly dispatched. Now looking forward to sharp knives. Thanks.

Posted on 19/06/16

Happy

– by Ken
Price:
Value:
Quality:

This is my second 3000. My first one died due to my negligence in not going to YouTube to learn how to change belts. Instead I used a Screwdriver and totally dismantled the machine. I also damaged the mother board.
I sent it to the boys in Brisbane and they sold me a new machine at a greatly reduced price.

Top marks for after sales service.

Posted on 3/04/16

Sensational

– by raymac
Quality:
Price:
Value:

After a lifetime of wasting my money on the usual range of sharpeners, the Nirey KE 3000 is just sensational.

After carefully looking at the video and following the instructions precisely the results are outstanding.

For day-to-day use (and for the family members who are not so careful about knives as myself) I use a Scanpan set. One session with the Nirey KE 3000 and these are nearly as sharp as my beloved Shun knives.

Can't recommend this unit highly enough.

Posted on 5/03/16

Very Impressed

– by Pete

Hi,

The Nirey arrived very quickly thankyou. Have already sharpened a dozen knives or so. Very impressed so far.

Will be ordering some replacement abrasive belts soon.

Regards
Pete

Posted on 9/12/15

Keeps on going!

– by Macca
Price:
Value:
Quality:

I have had this sharpener for about 8 years and it keeps sharpening my knives to perfection. A mate who is a butcher regularly borrows mine to sharpen his shop knives.

Posted on 22/10/15

Client for life

– by Michael

The knife sharpener that I purchased last week has arrived & put an edge on my butchery knives far & away above what I thought was a near perfect edge when completed solely by my own methods.

I can not thank you enough.
Your client for life, Michael.

Posted on 15/06/15

Excellent knife sharpener

– by Mark
Value:
Quality:
Price:

Excellent service on our replacement sharpener very prompt after sales service, will recommend this product to anybody who needs sharp knives.

Posted on 10/05/15

Excellent Product

– by Ash
Price:
Value:
Quality:

The best knife sharpner I have used - easy to use and an excellent result. Highly recommended.

Posted on 1/04/15

Great product.

– by John
Price:
Value:
Quality:

It more than lives up to its name. Excellent product. Beats anything else I have ever used before!

Posted on 23/03/15

A knife sharpener that works well.

– by Lex
Price:
Value:
Quality:

We all have knife sharpeners, all purchased with the promise of razor sharp results, most are a disappointment, but the Nirey KE3000 is the ducks guts of sharpeners. I have every knife I own at their most sharpest ever thanks to this little machine. Love how quick and easy it is to use, and although upfront cost is on the high side I will not need to look at or purchase any other sharpeners again. Very happy.

Posted on 12/03/15

11 years of use, still going strong

– by Gazza
Price:
Value:
Quality:

Bought my unit 2003. Have sharpened house knives (German Quility) and my 11 various quality fishing knives quite often. The KE-198 still going strong. Very impressed...

Posted on 1/03/15

excellent i should of got one years ago

– by Greg
Quality:
Price:
Value:

all my knives are now razor sharp and so quick and easy to do. a really good unit regards Greg

Posted on 4/02/15

Boning knife review

– by Kerod

Several years ago I purchased a I.O.Shen 6 inch boning knife. I used it for a few fish and then decided it was too good to use so it went in my display case.

The Barramundi season opening on Sunday just gone produced the bag limit of five magnificent fish around the 10kg mark so I gave the I.O.Shen a run on them. I’d forgotten how good it was.

After filleting, skinning, throating and packaging the five Barra the I.O.Shen was still hair shaving sharp. No other knife in my collection can boast this.

Just thought you’d like to know.

Kerod

Posted on 10/11/14

Dream come true

– by Chef Craig
Price:
Value:
Quality:

As a professional chef I mainly use a 31 cm Victorinox for all my chopping and cutting needs at work. In my 15 year career I've tried many different ways of sharpening knives but never really learned how to use a stone so my technique was always haphazard and inconsistent. What a delight to discover a Nirey KE3000 in a new kitchen I started work at because it gave me the opportunity to "try before I buy" and see how good the Nirey operated. On my first attempt at pulling the blade through both sides of the sharpening slots it came up razor-like and to my astonishment was sharper than I've ever had it before. At last I found a machine that is easy to use and after a few quick swipes returns my blade to like new condition. I looked online and found a Nirey dealer in the Hunter area and went to purchase my own unit quick-smart! It's well designed and built tough and my wife is happier than ever all our kitchen knives are sharp again. I have Globals, Mundials, Messermeisters and Victorinox knives and the Nirey handles them all with ease. It's fantastic to finally have a sharpening unit that does a perfect job. Get rid of your cheap gadgets and buy one of these because long after the cost is forgotten, you'll still have a beautiful machine that works like a dream sharpening your valuable knives. I'm totally converted.

Posted on 9/10/14

I've been waiting for something like this for some time

– by Stan

Hi, great results so far with the Nirey sharpener.

I've been waiting for something like this for some time. I can use a stone quite well, but times have changed. We can’t be sitting around all day sharpening when we can be out hunting.

Thank-you, Stan.

Posted on 23/07/14

Excellent product

– by Mark

Luke & all,

Received the sharpener and straight into action.

It is the answer to having a knife sharp.

Congratulations on an excellent product.

Regards,

Mark Brockhurst

Posted on 23/07/14

Excellent product

– by Mark

Luke & all,

Received the sharpener and straight into action.

It is the answer to having a knife sharp.

Congratulations on an excellent product.

Regards,

Mark Brockhurst

Posted on 29/04/14

Read on if you are a serious hunter!

– by Anthony

I’ve lost count of the amount of times I have been shown how to sharpen a knife the ‘proper’ way with a stone, but for some reason, I was never happy with the edge.

Around seven years ago, I came across the Nirey range of sharpeners from Total Knife Care, and since that time, I haven’t looked back. I purchased the KE3000 and watched the demo video and that was it.

Over the years, I have come to really depend on this machine for ALL my knives. Every single knife in our household has a razor sharp edge thanks to the KE3000. The best part is, once you get that edge by using the three grades of belt available, then it is very simple to keep the knives sharp by just going over them with the fine grade belt. For example, the knives in our kitchen are sharpened once a month, as that is all that is required to keep them in good shape.
My fishing knives are sharpened a little more regularly and the knives I use for hunting are re-sharpened after each outing.

The performance of this machine is outstanding and the best example would have to be with my hunting knives as these do really get a serious workout. I am based in Arnhemland, NT and regularly hunt buffalo with both a rifle and a compound bow. Every single buffalo that I hunt is used for meat, both for the local landowners and also for my family, so when I kill a buffalo, I take everything. I have a set of Dexter Russell knives as my hunting knives and I can completely butcher a buffalo with one single knife – that is how good the edge is when using the KE3000 machine. Either in the field, or at home, I never touch a knife up with a steel so the only thing that I use to keep the edge is the KE3000.
If, in the field, I have more than one buffalo to butcher, and my knife starts to lose it’s edge, I simply put it away and get out the next knife and keep going. Once I get back home, I simply run each knife back through the KE3000 and they are ready to go again.

Whether at home, out on the water, or out in the bush or the floodplains, my Nirey keeps my knives in great condition. The fact that most of my mates now bring their knives to me for sharpening goes to show just how good these machines are.

Anthony Gomes
Arnhemland, NT.

Posted on 29/04/14

Read on if you are a serious hunter!

– by Anthony

I’ve lost count of the amount of times I have been shown how to sharpen a knife the ‘proper’ way with a stone, but for some reason, I was never happy with the edge.

Around seven years ago, I came across the Nirey range of sharpeners from Total Knife Care, and since that time, I haven’t looked back. I purchased the KE3000 and watched the demo video and that was it.

Over the years, I have come to really depend on this machine for ALL my knives. Every single knife in our household has a razor sharp edge thanks to the KE3000. The best part is, once you get that edge by using the three grades of belt available, then it is very simple to keep the knives sharp by just going over them with the fine grade belt. For example, the knives in our kitchen are sharpened once a month, as that is all that is required to keep them in good shape.
My fishing knives are sharpened a little more regularly and the knives I use for hunting are re-sharpened after each outing.

The performance of this machine is outstanding and the best example would have to be with my hunting knives as these do really get a serious workout. I am based in Arnhemland, NT and regularly hunt buffalo with both a rifle and a compound bow. Every single buffalo that I hunt is used for meat, both for the local landowners and also for my family, so when I kill a buffalo, I take everything. I have a set of Dexter Russell knives as my hunting knives and I can completely butcher a buffalo with one single knife – that is how good the edge is when using the KE3000 machine. Either in the field, or at home, I never touch a knife up with a steel so the only thing that I use to keep the edge is the KE3000.
If, in the field, I have more than one buffalo to butcher, and my knife starts to lose it’s edge, I simply put it away and get out the next knife and keep going. Once I get back home, I simply run each knife back through the KE3000 and they are ready to go again.

Whether at home, out on the water, or out in the bush or the floodplains, my Nirey keeps my knives in great condition. The fact that most of my mates now bring their knives to me for sharpening goes to show just how good these machines are.

Anthony Gomes
Arnhemland, NT.

Posted on 28/01/14

Good knife sharpener

– by Jim
Price:
Value:
Quality:

Sharpens knives easily, doesn't take long to develop technique to get a nice sharp edge.

The quality of the unit seems adequately robust for home use, time will tell.

The price is extravagant but it works, and doesn't damage the edge of my damascus steel knives as some cheaper sharpeners have.

Posted on 28/01/14

Really good sharpener

– by Mark

Hi Luke. The KE3000 is really good. I have sharpened about 6 of my Global knives with it and it has done an excellent job. I think my results will only get better as my technique improves. Cheers, Mark.

Posted on 28/01/14

Really good sharpener

– by Mark

Hi Luke. The KE3000 is really good. I have sharpened about 6 of my Global knives with it and it has done an excellent job. I think my results will only get better as my technique improves. Cheers, Mark.

Posted on 11/12/13

Best sharpener I have used!

– by Tony

Hi Luke,

The Nirey Sharpener arrived yesterday. I took it home last night and tried it out; without a doubt the best sharpener I have used. It’s easy to use, does the job quickly and gives a result that is second to none.

The prompt service from Total Knife Care is also first rate.

Posted on 11/07/13

From the commercial sector - Jays Gourmet Meat & Poultry

– by Jason Brown -Jays Gourmet Meat & Poultry

All I can say is it's about time we have a product that works so well as this KE-280 sharpener. It sharpens your knives so well and saves you heaps of time.

Jason Brown
Jays Gourmet Meat & Poultry

Posted on 11/07/13

Have sharpened all the kitchen knives to a very sharp edge, excellent work.

– by Bruce

Thank you for the Nirey KE-198. Have sharpened all the kitchen knives to a very sharp edge, excellent work. I am very pleased with the unit and next job is my hunting knives.
Thank you
Bruce

Posted on 11/07/13

The sharpener works better than we ever thought possible!

– by Mark Pollard

Thank you. The sharpener works better than we ever thought possible! Wife is happy and can use it herself, what a joy. Easy to use, quiet and clean.
Thanks
Mark

Posted on 11/07/13

Thanks for such a good product.

– by Michele

I bought one of these KE-198's for my husband and his brother was so impressed we wish to get one for him. Thanks for such a good product.
Cheers
Michele

Posted on 11/07/13

Bloody greatest thing I have ever bought

– by John Stevens

Hi Total Knife Care
Bloody greatest thing I have ever bought. Could not believe the results from the KE-280. Simple but good. I cut a lot of meat skinning fishing etc. I wish I had it years ago
Thank you
John Stevens

Posted on 11/07/13

Very happy with the KE-198 sharpener.

– by Richard

I would like to say I am very happy with the KE-198 sharpener. It's a great product and I will be recommending it to my mates!
Richard

Posted on 11/07/13

Thanks for the great product and great service.

– by Stephen Bates

Received the KE-280 in time for Christmas. Thanks for the great product and great service. Deposited money into your account and it should be there by late Monday.
Thanks again and I hope the New Year is good to you.

Cheers
Steve

Posted on 11/07/13

I found the unit of good quality & simple & easy to operate

– by Tony Prentice

I received my purchase yesterday & since have sharpened all my knifes !! I found the unit of good quality & simple & easy to operate all in all extremely happy with the purchase, great price also !!!
So many thanks great dealing with you, I will promote your product as much as I can & see if I can get you some sales.
Also many thanks for the stubby holders much appreciated.

Tony Prentice

Posted on 11/07/13

Customer Review

– by Stuart Grundy

Hi Scott,
I have just disassembled my KE 280 in readiness to put in the new grinding belts. The inside is like new other than a little sign of wear on the pressure plates. When I gave it the once over I thought it was in brilliant condition for the amount of work it has done. You mentioned your website in your previous note and a thought a picture of my machine disassembled, even showing that tiny bit of wear on the pressure plates with pictures of the types of knives it has worked on will give potential buyers a realistic idea of what the KE 280 is capable of.

Let me know if you are interested.

Cheers Stuart

Posted on 11/07/13

Great product, all going well.

– by Derby Firearm Supplies
Price:
Value:
Quality:

The bush telegraph is abuzz with these sharpeners and our local people are now finding out how good they are and I have suddenly run out of stock!
Great product, all going well.

Cheers
Anne and Pat
Derby Firearm Supplies

Posted on 11/07/13

I decided to sharpen the Condor Filleter on the KE-3000 and it came up razor sharp.

– by Dick Eussen (Journalist)
Price:
Value:
Quality:

I have had a Condor filleting knife since the mid 1980's. It's a beast of a thing to sharpen and to keep sharp due to the steel and process involved. The Condor was expensive also, they were well over a $100 in those days. Anyway, I decided to sharpen the Condor Filleter on the KE-3000 and it came up razor sharp. I took it bush and filleted about 40 Barramundi ranging in size from 60 to 90 cm. There were 5 of us, so we took 25 fish home and ate the rest during our 7 day stay. In all that time I did not touch the blade of the Condor and it is still sharp. It is an amazing blade, but thanks to the KE-3000 the blade now stays sharp.
Cheers
Dick

Posted on 4/07/13

You promised me it would save time and you have delivered

– by Kim Wark
Price:
Value:
Quality:

Thanks Total Knife Care,
I love this product. Now I do all my own knives and don't have to wait for my husband to do them.
Kim

Posted on 12/11/12

Customer Review

– by Mary O'Ceirin
Quality:
Price:
Value:

We purchased two I.O.Shen knives from Total Knife Care online. The service, before and after sales, was superb. The knives are magnificent: they are works of art, and are tools for artists. They do require some extra care, and there are things you shouldn't do with them. So read the
directions carefully when you treat yourself! We are delighted with ours!

Posted on 24/09/12

Customer Service Review

– by Kerod Lindley

Scott
I appreciate your sincerity and in this day and age I am really astonished at the genuine way you do business. I have decided to purchase one of those filleting knives for my collection. Could you send it with the other gear and debit my card please.

Regards
Kerod

Posted on 24/09/12

Customer Service Review

– by Jeffrey McFie

Hello Scott
I have just received my order along with the covers as discussed on the phone.
Thanks for the great service, you don't often see it these days.
Regards
Jeffrey McFie

Posted on 24/09/12

See I told you I'd buy more knives!

– by KJ

Hi Scott!
Got the knives today.
See I told you I'd buy more knives! They're fantastic, thank you for making such a great and reliable product available. I'm completely sold.
Cheers!
PS The sharpener is going great guns, but it's getting used less and less now that I keep upgrading my knives.
KJ

Posted on 24/09/12

I.O.Shen knives are truly outstanding

– by Adam Gray - Head Chef, Rhodes Twenty Four
Quality:
Price:
Value:

"I.O.Shen knives are truly outstanding. The balance of the knife and the exceptional quality and craftsmanship of the blade make them the best knives I have ever used...."

Adam Gray - Head Chef, Rhodes Twenty Four

Posted on 24/09/12

The range of knives available is fantastic

– by Kerry Jane Simons - Return Customer
Quality:
Price:
Value:

The range of knives available is fantastic. I would happily recommend them to anyone who enjoys using superb knives for both professional and home use. Oh, and they look good too!

Kerry Jane Simons - Return Customer

Posted on 24/09/12

I love everything about the I.O Shen knives

– by Alison Taafe - Chef and Author

I love everything about the I.O Shen knives. I have been using them for just over a year now and will never turn back. One of the best things about them is that they stay sharp for so long and they have a superb edge. They are also so comfortable to hold and use.

Alison Taafe - Chef and Author

Posted on 24/09/12

These knives are just stunning.

– by Garrey Dawson – Ready Steady Cook

"These knives are just stunning. They stay sharper and retain their edge longer than any other knife I have used."

Garrey Dawson – Ready Steady Cook

Posted on 24/09/12

The best invention ever!

– by Stefan
Quality:
Price:
Value:

Seriously, I couldn't sharpen the blades better by hand.

Items 1 to 44 of 44 total

per page